Against the Silence   Leave a comment

Sometimes, silence is deafening. 

Over the last ten or so days, I have wanted to stop writing; thought I could take my mind off of things I shouldn’t dwell on. I felt like trying to get rid of an addiction, my mind and heart aches of the pen and how the words wanted to flow out of me. My blood screams of the writing that I tried to surpress.

I have realised that writing is a part of me. As writer Isaac Asimov said, “I write for the same reason as I breathe – because if I didn’t, I would die.” No matter how much I try to surpress my urge to write, I keep coming back to it. There is no obvious reason for me to write, I do it because it is a part of me. To deny it is like denying a part of me. Not that it is all who I am but it is something that God has given me a passion for, and that has become a part of who God made me out to be.

To not write, I have given in to silence. And it screams louder than any voice can muster. Silence gives way for darkness to consume the soul. It magnifies our own personal desires and allows us walk in temptation alone, making us more open to sin. Silence is deafening because if we are not careful, we miss the signs that silence gives off and miss the opportunities to love those who needs it the most when they are silent.

I pray that my passion for writing continues, that God gives me the words to write and the inspiration to speak out against silence. Words spoken may be forgotten easily, but words written on paper makes a lasting impression on the paper.

Posted August 22, 2016 by shuoli85 in Uncategorized

Leave a comment